Hats on or hats off?

I have to say, I struggle with hats. Poser-y? Try-hard? Awkward? Under what circumstance does one remove it? Is it acceptable to wear it indoors? and when one takes it off, where does one put it? Needless to say my total hat count is a big fat zero…Don’t get me wrong, I’m actually a big fan of hats. I love seeing glamorous women in wide brimmed wonders or hipsters in their printed snap backs. It is a mere beanie that completes that Cara Delevigne grungy look, whilst the straw hat is a pleasure to see in summer.

Alexa Chung in the Vero Moda SS12 campaign

Jourdan Dunn and Cara Delevigne in beanies

Jourdan Dunn Cara Delevingne beanie hat

Homies Knitted beanie by Brian Lichtenberg and wide brimmed hat by Maison Michel both available at Net-A-Porter
Brian Lichtenberg                Maison Michel Blanche rabbit-felt wide-brimmed hat
Shorter brim fedora from Topshop

Short Brim Fedora Hat
Me in my friend’s straw boater from H&M

I have bought two hats and taken both back…However i’ve decided instead of adopting a friends hat mid evening i am going to take the plunge and hope it’ll be third time lucky.

Where do you stand on hat etiquette? are you hats on or hats off?

Please follow my blog for regular updates. x

Leave a Reply

